Wow. Reading this was very frustrating. The copyright laws today are crazy. I can't get over how Girl Scouts aren't supposed to sing "Happy Birthday To You" at camp without buying a license. That is so ridiculous! It's Happy Birthday. . . get over it. No one should need a liscense to sing Happy Birthday. It makes me mad. Girls Scouts doing the Macarena in silence makes me mad. The Girls Scouts and ASCAP made a negotiation but it's insane that ASCAP was even thinking about making the Girl Scouts buy a license to sing Happy Birthday.
People are so selfish. Copyright isn't about "protecting others creativity" it's about making sure people don't miss out on any money. It's all about money. Our creativity and self expression is being limited because there are people out there more concerned about making (tons of) money and they don't care who they hold back to do it.
There do need to be some restrictions but not as many as there are now. I saw this band called Sing It Loud in Iowa City earlier this year. When my friends and I were waiting in line the band members were trying to get us to buy their new album. They told us if we didn't have a lot of money we should just buy one CD then burn it so we could all have one. They don't care about making tons of money. They care about sharing their music with as many people as possible. They just want to get their art out there and I think that's awesome. I'm sure the people running the record label they are signed to don't feel the same way.
No comments:
Post a Comment